Thessaloniki Water Supply Museum is in the Sfagia area near the city’s western entry point. The building that houses the museum used to serve as the central Thessaloniki Water Supply Company pumping station. The construction of the building began in 1890 and was completed in 1892. It is fully constructed with building materials brought from Belgium. In 1984 the edifice was restored and became a Water Supply Museum.
The Thessaloniki Water Supply Museum has two halls where motor-machinery and electricity generators, old electricity circuit switchboards and huge pumping units are on display. The first one used to be the boiler room and had two steam-powered units which were used to pump water from 1892 until 1929. In this hall there is a detailed display showing how steam was produced to drive the steam engines in the pump house.
In the second hall are the pumps, the first and second generation diesel engines (MAN and MIRRLEES respectively), and the BRUSH electricity generators, which were used to irrigate Thessaloniki until 1978. All the machinery is authentic, has been maintained and is in good working order. In fact, one of the machines is open at the side so that visitors can see what happens inside it when it is working.